Public Helpline
Police Oath
Nuh Map on the Harya

Nuh at a Glance

Nuh district (formerly known as Mewat district) is one of the 22 districts in the Indian state of Haryana. There are four sub-divisions in this district: Nuh, Ferozepur Jhirka, Punahana, and Taoru. It has an area of 1,860 square kilometres (720 sq mi) and had a population of 1.09 million in 2011. It is bounded by Gurugram District to the north, Palwal District of Haryana to the east and Alwar District of Rajasthan to the south and west. Its boundaries also touch Bharatpur District of Rajasthan and Mathura District of Uttar Pradesh near Bichhor Village and Nai Village of Punhana Tehsil. It is predominantly populated by farmers of Meo ethnicity. It is the district with the highest Muslim population.

In 2018, the Government of India's think tank NITI Aayog listed Nuh district as the most underdeveloped of India's 739 districts. Despite bordering Gurgaon district, Haryana's rich industrial and financial heartland, this district had the worst health and nutrition, education, agriculture and water resources, financial inclusion and skill development and basic infrastructure.


District Nuh was created as a Session Division in aug 2013. District Mewat was formed vide Haryana Government Revenue Department Notification No.S.O.30/P.A.17/1887/S.5/2005 dated 4.4.2005, with headquarter at Nuh. Mewat ‘the land of Meos’ comprises 5 blocks i.e. Nuh, Taoru, Nagina, Punhana and Ferozepur Jhirka in old District Gurgaon in Haryana State. A new District known as Mewat (Nuh) came into existence comprising aforesaid 5 blocks. The region is spread over 1507 Sq.Km. inhabited by 10.89 lacs people in 443 villages and 5 small towns. This region is one of the most backward region of Haryana. In the year 1980, Government of Haryana with a commitment to deliver social and economic justice to the backward and under-privileged sections of society constituted Mewat Development Board ( MDB ) under the Chairmanship of Chief Minister, Haryana, Ministers and Secretaries of important departments viz. Finance, Irrigation & Power, Industries, Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, Cooperation & Development and all the M.Ps & MLAs of Mewat region, besides D.Cs of Gurgaon and Faridabad and also few other eminent persons of the region as official and non-official members. Mewat Development Agency ( executing Agency of MDB ) implemented various developmental activities in Mewat area in the fields of Health, Education, Agriculture, Irrigation, Animal Husbandry, Rural Water Supply Community Development, Housing, Industrial Development etc. This District comprises 4 subdivisions, 5 tehsils, one sub tehsil and 5 blocks.

Map of District

NUH region geographically coordinates on Latitude 27°54’05”North and Longitude 77°10’50”East, is a hilly region, comprising the portions of ancient Matsya-desh and Surasena or modern southern part of Haryana and north-eastern Rajasthan. Mewat is historically a very important region lies in the south of Delhi, takes its name from its inhabitants, the Meos. In the ancient period, its boundaries were roughly described, running irregularly from Deeg in Bharatpur, Alwar itself and Dholpur in Rajasthan, Rewari, Palwal and Gurgaon in Haryana and also includes parts of the districts of Mathura in Uttar Pradesh. Mewat possesses several hill ranges of Aravali Mountain. It was for many centuries famous for the predatory character of its inhabitants, who at all times gave great trouble to the Turk, Pathan, Mughal and British rulers at Delhi.

About Nuh Police

The Nuh Police is under the authority of the Haryana Police, Govt. of Haryana. About Gurugram PoliceIn accordance with the Police Act, it is headed by the Superintendent of Police, who, under the direction of the Director General of Police has the control and management of the Force and all matters connected therewith. The police administration in the district is under the Superintendent of Police, who next to the Deputy Commissioner is responsible for the maintenance of law and order. The Superintendent of Police is assisted by One Additional Superintendent of Police, Six Deputy Superintendents of Police posted at DSP HQ Nuh, DSP Nuh, DSP Law & Order, DSP Ferozepur Jhirka, DSP Punhana and DSP Tauru